Question from my meebo widget: Which union do film publicists belong to?

Whoever left the question for me on my meebo chat widget, you didn’t give me an email address for direct response to you, so I’m posting the answer here.

Unit Publicists who work on location during principal photography of union films and want to receive union benefits need to belong to the International Cinematographers Guild.   Publicists and Cinematographers were merged into one guild in 2002.  One of my co-authors, Michael Klastorin, belongs to the ICG.  Incidentally, he hasn’t been around to post in what seems like forever because since the end of the writers’ strike, he’s been working almost non-stop on location.

Film publicists that don’t necessarily focus on unit work, rather in other areas of film publicity, such as launch, festival, theatrical release, etc., or who do unit work on non-union films or films with union waivers, don’t have to belong to a union.  There are professional associations, however, that are useful to join.  For instance, I belong to the Entertainment Publicists Professional Society.

Each organization has its own eligibility requirements, application and acceptance process.

 

2 Responses to Question from my meebo widget: Which union do film publicists belong to?

  1. Greetings from Los angeles!

    I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  2. I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to
    my own blogroll.

Leave a Reply

